Buy the Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food on http://www.onlynaturalpet.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Nature's Variety
Located in: Food, Cats
Fresh meat is the first ingredient in Nature's Variety Dry Kibble, enriched with probiotics, prebiotics, and enzymes and only whole grains.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
All natural(10), Animal likes it(4), Easy to digest(9), Good taste(10), Good value(8)
Best Uses:
Active cats(6), Cat(3), Everyday(9), Indoor cats(9), Kittens(3)
Describe Yourself:
Long-time pet owner(4), Multiple cat owner(4), Single cat owner(3)
 
Switched from Science Diet
By The Big Human from Milwaukee, WI on 4/21/2010
Pros:
All Natural, Easy To Digest, Good Taste, Good Value, Likes It, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Active Cats, Everyday, Indoor Cats, Kittens, Older Cats, Special Meals
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

As a foster home for a no-kill shelter as well as owners of our own, we have kitties whose condition has ranged from grave to perfect. We switched from Science Diet at the recommendation of my daughter (who sells another brand of pet food). Since the switch, all diarrhea has stopped, our kitties (ranging in age from 9 months to 9 years)all love it, we use less litter and the overall health of our boys has improved. The price is comparable to Science Diet, but the kitties eat less of it so it actually saves money in a few different ways. Although it does tend to crumble, the cats love the taste so much that i've seen them eating the tiny pieces!

 
My kitties love this cat food!!
By Kat ladyVerified Purchaser from Omaha, NE on 12/30/2009
Pros:
Easy To Digest, Good Taste, Likes It, Nutritional
Cons:
Crumbles a little, Messy
Best Uses:
Everyday, Indoor Cats, Older Cats
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

All of my cats love this cat food and enjoy the different varieties available. The kibble is easy for my senior cat to chew and easy to digest. The only problem I have is that the kibble sometimes breaks up into smaller pieces but the cats will still eat the small pieces. The little pieces tend to get scattered on the floor around the bowl so it is a little messy.

Overall, it is a wonderful cat food and I am very pleased with it.

 
Both Cats Love This Food
By jacki from Healdsburg, CA on 11/6/2009
Pros:
All Natural, Good Taste, Likes It, Nutritional
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

Found this site when researching natural pet food with no grains as one of our cats has recently been licking the fur off her stomach & paws, which may be allergy related. Tried the Chicken formula and both cats immediately loved it. Before when I would feed them in the morning they wouldn't necessarily eat right away - they just liked to know the food was there. Now, both of them immediately start eating as soon as I set the bowl down. Think they may be eating more of this food than their old brand so not sure if that will impact weight. Also too early to tell if excessive licking is due to allergy & changing food will help.

 
Max & Lilly LOVE THIS STUFF!!!
By John S.Verified Reviewer from Central CT, USA on 6/20/2008
Pros:
All Natural, Easy To Digest, Good Taste, Good Value, Improves Coat, Likes It, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Everyday, Indoor Cats
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

We had been feeding our prior cat (female, SciSci) some of the "better/best" dry foods. She was 13 and suffering from kidney failure; we had to put her down. Our new cats, bro & sis (Max & Lilly) are now 2 years old. Eight months ago we were introduced to Prairie brand by our local pet shop. Max & Lilly had no problem switching to the "new" (Prairie) brand/flavors. Max used to inhale his food before we made the switch. Within 15 minutes after eating the previous brand (we tried switching brands several times, simply couldn't find one they liked or he could hold down) he would vomit his entire meal. We even tried giving him smaller portions...nothing seemed to work. With Prairie brand they are happy little campers...they have more spunk and their coats are so soft and shinny. Thank you for making this awesome product and you have very happy life-long customers; and YES, we tell anyone/everyone about your wonderful cat foods; we have many friends that love and pamper their cats, like our wonderful friend Audrey up North in ME, she's got 15 cats (9 of them ME Koon cats) and she's delighted with your Prairie brand also.

 
Great Product
By PaulVerified Reviewer from Wichita, KS on 10/22/2007
Pros:
All Natural, Easy To Digest, Good Taste, Good Value, Improves Coat, Likes It, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Active Cats, Everyday, Indoor Cats, Special Meals
Describe Yourself:
Single Cat Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

Other than having to transition your cat from their old food to this product, there are not special care instructions. My cat loves the food, is balancing his weight much better and his litter box waste is very small (he is absorbing more food). It is also nice that each flavor is designed to be rotated in feeding. In other words, I can feed him different flavors randomly instead of having to transition. I love this product and so does Grayson!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good food
By MaiVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles, CA on 10/3/2007
Pros:
All Natural, Easy To Digest, Good Value, Nutritional
Cons:
Doesn't Like It, one cat would not eat
Best Uses:
Indoor Cats
Describe Yourself:
Multiple Cat Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

Some cats loved it, one would not touch it after a while. It's a good food but perhaps too many ingredients. One cat also developed some itching. I would recommend this food because of all the great ingredients but there may be too many ingredients for sensitive/allergic cats. My cats preferred this over the raw instinct which they would not touch.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Kitty likes it a bunch, but...
By CDVerified Reviewer from Illinois, USA on 9/21/2007
Pros:
Good Taste, Likes It
Best Uses:
Everyday

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

Kitty loves this stuff so much that it wolfs it down like it's going out of style. I'm wondering if the food doesn't satiate her appetite. Due to that it might make her feel more hungry perpetuating her desire to wolf down the next bowl she gets. (Don't know for sure).

However she has also reverted back to the allergic reactions she got before with inferior food. Something in “Lamb & Oatmeal” and “Salmon & Brown Rice” is causing skin allergies to flare up.

I'm sure this food is just fine for many/most cats, just not mine despite my cat loving the stuff.

 
Great for novel protein diets
By HarrisharborVerified Reviewer from West Sacramento, CA on 8/25/2007
Pros:
Bite size is perfect, Easy To Digest, Good Taste, Likes It, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Active Cats, Everyday, Indoor Cats, protein intolerance, Special Meals
Describe Yourself:
Multiple Cat Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

Recently had my 5 yr old bengal was diagnosed with protein and grain intolerance. Laughed with the vet because I have grain and dairy food intolerances so now I have to read cat food labels too. Bought the expensive "limited ingredient" diets at the vet, neither Pequita or her brother liked them and I found the pieces to be too large for Pequita's small mouth. So I shopped around and found the Lamb and Oatmeal Natures Variety. My girl has vomited 2x this month down from once per week. She's got that devilishness back in her personality and her brother spends alot less time licking his private parts. All in all, a good value and I will be trying the other variety's soon.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT Food!
By MomoVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 7/31/2007
Pros:
All Natural, Easy To Digest, Good Taste, Good Value, Improves Coat, Likes It
Best Uses:
Active Cats, Everyday, Indoor Cats, Kittens, Older Cats, Special Meals
Describe Yourself:
Single Cat Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

My 14 year old cat has multiple food allergies and had terrible skin lesions when started on this food. Within days of starting on the food, the open lesions began to heal, the shine began to return to her coat, she started to grow hair where she had lost hair, and her appetite increased. She's now gaining weight and most of the lesions on her skin have healed. For me and my cat, this food is a miracle product.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I loved the idea...kitty didn't...
By HeatherVerified Reviewer from Boston, MA on 7/9/2007
Pros:
All Natural, Nutritional
Cons:
Doesn't Like It
Best Uses:
Less Finicky Pets
Describe Yourself:
Multiple Cat Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

I was desperate to find a single protein and single grain food for my cats. One is a little heavy and the other has allergies. Unfortunately, my "eat anything, big boy" ate this it but definitely preferred other brands and my other cat didn't even think it was food. I mixed this with their regular food to get them used to it; the little one ate around it and once his old food was gone he didn't eat for nearly two days. I recommend the food, but maybe not for picky kitties!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Prairie Dry Cat Food by Nature's Variety
By lauriemakVerified Reviewer from Hamilton, NJ on 7/6/2007
Pros:
All Natural, Easy To Digest, Good Taste, Good Value, Improves Coat, Likes It, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Active Cats, Everyday, Indoor Cats
Describe Yourself:
Single Cat Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

Jesse, our 15 month old "pinto" cat, lives with Cheyenne, our almost 9 year old Black Lab. They love to play with each other and both have unbelieveable energy. Cheyenne has some health issues, so I began making homemade food for her 2 years ago. I was making the same food for Jesse when we first got him, but about 9 months ago found [...] and began buying his food from you. HE LOVES IT and I'm comfortable knowing he's eating food that's really good for him. We hope to have him for a very long time.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Allergic to Chicken
By TeganTooVerified Reviewer from Mississippi on 7/5/2007
Pros:
All Natural, Easy To Digest, Good Taste, Good Value, Improves Coat, Likes It, Nutritional
Cons:
Contains Chicken Eggs
Best Uses:
Active Cats, Everyday, Indoor Cats, Kittens, Older Cats
Describe Yourself:
Multiple Cat Owner, Veterinary Technician
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

We own six cats of varying ages from 8 months to twelve years old. One of our young ones is allergic to Chicken and Dairy. His particular allergy is called Eocinophilic Granuloma Complex, and includes Granuloma (itchy raised red, sometimes bleeding) tissue on his hind legs in the thigh and belly region, Rodent ulcers on his lips and irritable bowel disease. It can be completely controlled by removing all chicken and dairy products from his diet. The Lamb and Oatmeal food contains only chicken eggs which so far have shown to have no effect on Ivan's allergies. The product is tasty for all six cats and is not cost prohibitive.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great food
By Jo's ManagerieVerified Reviewer from Norfolk, VA on 4/26/2007
Pros:
Animal Likes It, Good Value, Improves Coat, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Cat, Small Animals
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

My cats love it, my ferrets love it. Coats are nice and shiny...

 
Excellent Choice
By moltencatVerified Reviewer from Tennessee on 4/18/2007
Pros:
Animal Likes It, Improves Coat, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Cat
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

I have tried several different brands of natural pet food. This one seems to be extremely well liked by my 2 kitties. They chose it over the food I had been feeding them (filidae). Doesn't upset their tummies and they love it! I have noticed that their fur is extremely soft and silky. Also this brand does not do any testing on animals just so they can stick a sticker on the bag that says "new and improved". Excellent choice!

 
kitty delights
By calvadoreranchVerified Reviewer from stockdale tx on 2/21/2007
Pros:
all natural, Animal Likes It, Improves Coat, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Cat, Small Animals
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

the best all natural cat food we have tried. i was able to capture 2 feral cats by feeding them this food and having a lot of gentle patience. they are now safe and sound house cats.

 
This is a good product
By AlexVerified Reviewer from Richmond Virginia on 11/14/2006
Pros:
Animal Likes It, Nutritional

Comments about Nature's Variety Nature's Variety Prairie Dry Cat Food:

I bought this product and my cat really likes it. He is on a "nasty" prescription diabetic diet and I add this on the side and let him have free choice. He really likes this diet however he does vomit it back from time to time as the kibbles are a harsh shape to his throat. He is used to round and small. These kibbles are almost star shaped. I'd like to see that changed.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 Only Natural Pet Store All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.