Buy the Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food on http://www.onlynaturalpet.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food image
 
(based on 26 ratings)
Brand: Primal Pet Foods
Located in: Food, Dogs
Developed to directly mimic the diet of canines in the wild. Antibiotic & Hormone Free Meat for superior levels of amino & essential fatty acids
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 26 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Dog likes it(24), Easy to digest(20), Good value(6), Improves coat(17), Nutritional(20)
Best Uses:
Active dogs(10), Larger dogs(7), Older dogs(9), Puppies(7), Smaller dogs(15)
Describe Yourself:
Long-time pet owner(19)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Back to 5 stars (Update)
By SaladnutVerified Purchaser from Gun Barrel City, TX on 7/17/2010
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Good Value, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Cons:
None
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

I continue to use this awesome food. At one point rated down to 3 stars because the food seemed to become runny. I was happy to see that this was communicated to the manufacturer. [...] This has improved since the time of the review. I have used this food for years, and my dogs long outlive their counterparts. Raw is without a doubt the best thing for dogs, and if you don't have time to do it yourself, this is the next best option.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Food!
By gogirlusaVerified Purchaser from St. Louis, MO on 5/21/2010
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Active Dogs, Larger Dogs, Older Dogs, Puppies, Smaller Dogs, Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

This is the best commercially prepared food that you can feed your pet, in my experience. Since I've started feeding this raw food, my dog has become a different animal. He is now so vibrant and healthy, and full of energy. I make sure to buy 2 or 3 different protein sources of this food at a time and rotate every meal. That way my dog won't become allergic to a certain protein. I learned that trick from a wonderful holistic vet. I like this particular raw food best because it's not pasturized and because it doesn't use synthetic vitamins...it's whole food based. This is definitely top of the line and I will be feeding my dogs this food as long as I live.

Images shared by: gogirlusa

Andy and his Ipod

Image Thumbnail
 
raw duck patties
By Auntie BarbVerified Purchaser from Charlevoix, Michigan on 4/2/2010
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Easy to use, Good Value, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
all dogs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

My dogs loved them and I had no trouble feeding them. I mix them with Taste of the Wild Kibble.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Primal Pet Foods - Lamb
By Hurithuyana from Florence, OR on 3/5/2010
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Good Value, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Best Uses:
Active Dogs, Older Dogs, Smaller Dogs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

Primal has the best raw dog (pet) food I've ever found - all Organic - scientifically balanced - antibiotic- & hormone-free meats.
Can't say enough about it!!!

Only Natural Pet Store Response: Primal is not "all organic" or certified organic- but they do use several organic ingredients, and those are noted as organic on our site & the product label when applicable.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Updated review
By SaladnutVerified Reviewer from Gun Barrel City, TX on 2/14/2010
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

I love this food and continue to use it; however, it used to be a firm patty, and it has clearly been watered down over the last few orders. I don't buy this product for it's cheap price, since it is pricey. I'm not pleased with the manufacturers watering it down for an extra buck, and have reduced my rating from 5 stars to 3 stars as a result. I would rather have the price increase than the quality decrease. After years of autoship, there is clearly room for improvement. While raw is the best way to go, and this is very convenient, I will eventually go back to making my own.

Only Natural Pet Store Response: We contacted Primal wondering if there was a formula change, and this is the information we received: "Primal has not made any changes in the formula. The ingredients have remained the same and the amount of each ingredient has remained the same as well. It could have been ice on the patty that may have melted creating a more watered down look to it. Another possibility is the moisture content of the produce can vary and produce with more moisture can cause what appears to be a watered down look."

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Healthy food for dogs!
By M. L.Verified Purchaser from Texas on 1/15/2010
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Improves Coat
Best Uses:
Smaller Dogs, Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

Gone in 10 seconds. Raw food is great for dogs with skin problems.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best out there and I highly recommen
By Robbyn the Boxer LoverVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 12/8/2009
Pros:
Convenient, Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Good Value, Healthy, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Best Uses:
Active Dogs, Larger Dogs, Older Dogs, Puppies, Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

Primal is the way to go. I don't think I have enough positive words to describe the overall benefits of this product. I have 3 rambunctious boxers, ages 8yrs, 5 yrs, & 7 months. They all started on dry when I got them, and due to various circumstances got me into looking at raw food. I used to prepare and buy in bulk all of their meals (from grinding veggies, adding supplements, prepping whole raw chicken) but that took so much time with 3 dogs. When I heard of Primal, I did a lot of research and found this was the perfect answer to convenience & nutrition. Yes, it is pricey for 3 dogs that go through 3-4 bags in a full week, but it's definitely worth it. They have great health, skin, coat, eyes and have thrived on eating raw. I switch with lamb, turkey/sardine, pheasant, beef, chicken. They love them all!

Images shared by: Robbyn the Boxer Lover

My two dogs eating Primal!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful, nutritious food
By saladnutVerified Purchaser from Gun Barrel City, TX on 10/16/2009
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Best Uses:
Active Dogs, Larger Dogs, Older Dogs, Puppies, Smaller Dogs, Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

There is nothing like real living raw food for dogs. I'm a raw food advocate for my pets and myself. I can feel the energy from raw food, and I see it in my pets. My doggies live to be very old and few problems as a result. I used to make my own, but with my busy lifestyle, these patties are so much easier. While it's pricey, I find it a great investment in my pet. I'd rather pay for good health than the vet bills. I mix some dry raw food in addition to this to make it stretch a bit further. I will continue to use this until I retire and have the time to make their food myself.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic
By Maxie's MomVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 9/30/2009
Pros:
Chewy, Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest
Best Uses:
Active Dogs, Smaller Dogs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

My dog likes it microwaved for 1 minute (so it is still somewhat icey) and then cut into cubes.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product
By Janice the dog ladyVerified Purchaser from Baltimore , Md on 8/18/2009
Describe Yourself:
Long-Time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

My dogs love this food ..it is easy to feed them and I know it is good for them .Everyone is happy !!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
PROPER WAY TO THAW RAW FOOD
By aussiesforeverVerified Reviewer from AUSTIN, TX on 6/7/2009
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Improves Coat, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Active Dogs, Larger Dogs, Older Dogs, Puppies, Smaller Dogs, Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

Let me start off by saying that I have been feeding raw food for many years and raise and show dogs.
If you immerse raw food in water and then pour the water off, you are potentially leaching out any nutrients that have been added to the food, and pouring them down the drain. I would strongly advise putting the frozen food out (covered) overnight or in the morning for PM feeding, but if you forget simply put in a zip bag or something of the sort and let it thaw in the cool tap water.

[4 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
HIGHLY reccomended!!!
By KodaloverVerified Reviewer from Tucson, AZ on 5/19/2009
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Cons:
Pricey but worth it
Best Uses:
Active Dogs, Every dog, Larger Dogs, Older Dogs, Puppies, Smaller Dogs, Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Professional Pet Trainer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

As a young puppy, Koda Bear was throwing up and had bloody diarrhea. The breeder was feeding a very poor quality kibble. The veterinarian put him on antibiotics, but this only made things worse. So I did some investigating and found that grain-free raw food really is the best of the best in dog (and cat) foods.

I have been feeding Koda nothing but Primal raw foods for the past year and a half (he's nearly 2 years old). He is at a perfect weight, vibrantly healthy, fantastic skin and coat. His eyes, ears and nose are clear, and he has no health problems whatsoever. His stools are firm and small and decompose very quickly.

I don't thaw in the refrigerator. I just place the needed amount in their feeding bowl and fill it with cool water (to keep from cooking the food). Once it has reached room temperature in the middle, I pour off the water and feed it to them. This takes about 15-20 minutes.

I suggest you rotate the formula often to keep interest high and protein allergies low. For example, every time I need to buy a new bag, I choose a different meat formula. Try it!

I recommend this to all of my obedience classes as well as most of the dogs that I groom. I am already switching my brand new puppy from the breeder's dry kibble to Primal raw food with great results!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent
By Dog runnerVerified Purchaser from Greenville, SC on 2/5/2009
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Best Uses:
Older Dogs, Smaller Dogs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

I have had the dogs on another raw food brand that doesn't cost as much as this. I am glad I switched. The dogs love it. The first bag was phesant, which they didn't take to right off, but now the venison and chicken they love. It may have taken them a while to get used to this kind. The phesant and chicken look green like they have green veggies in them. The venison is dark red. I also usually get medallions, but this time tried patties. They are rectangular. They are easy to thaw and cut into little squares. I always split one patty between our two small poodles. I put a pill in one square, and they gulp all of it right down.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
My dog loves this!
By Linda the school teacherVerified Purchaser from Ft. Worth, Tx on 12/18/2008
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

My little mixed terrier girl has had lots of allergies to food and airborne allergens. I am hoping this food will help her allergies and hopefully lose some extra weight she has gained. She has only eaten 2 bags and has lost some weight. She LOVES it!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome!
By SaladnutVerified Purchaser from Gun Barrel City, TX on 12/18/2008
Pros:
Dog Likes It
Best Uses:
Active Dogs, Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

I totally believe raw food keeps my dogs healthy. Had a Shih-Tzu that lived until she was 18 with many years on this food. My Yorkie almost died recently. She didn't eat for 4 days, and when she started eating again, the only thing she would touch was this food. I used to fix raw food for them myself in a food processor. Obviously, this is more expensive. However, given my busy schedule, I find this wonderful. We repackage patties into smaller containers and always have thawed food ready.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Primal Raw Dog Food Nuggets
By BarbaraVerified Purchaser from Irvine, CA on 8/18/2008
Pros:
Dog loves it, Easy To Digest, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty, Worth EVERY penny
Best Uses:
Energy Boost, Healthy Teeth, Improved Coat, Longevity, Optimum Health
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

After my dog needed periodontal surgery, I sought out a holistic dog lover who HIGHLY recommended Primal Raw Dog Food, along with some nutritional supplements. My dog absolutely LOVES Primal and is now a voracious eater. Such a MAJOR change from when he used to pick at top rated dry food. Primal is FANTASTIC!!!

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
my 14 y.o. big mutt is puppy-like again!
By lzylight from chicago on 7/8/2008
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, No more constant itching
Cons:
B careful raw meat, Pricey
Best Uses:
Larger Dogs, Older Dogs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

..my dog has been itchy since birth...always chewing !...turns out he is super sensitive to most grains.

...he also was very sick @ age 5 & has been on thyroid meds since then...he also developed liver issues 5 years ago.....but since my dog has been exclusively raw w/ this food, raw meaty bones plus food i make....he lost 5 pounds that he needed to lose.

..he is close to 70 pounds now & has been very healthy..& energetic....in spite of the high protein diet his liver enzymes have decreased significantly......and he is more physically fit than ever...& will be 15 on his next bday!!!

Only Natural Pet Store Response: As holistic vets know, the quality of the protein is often more important than the quantity of protein in the diet - it doesn't get better or easier to assimilate than with raw foods like Primal.

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Supplement to feeding RAW
By MinPinMomVerified Purchaser from Idaho Falls, ID on 6/20/2008
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Smaller Dogs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

I feed my dog a raw diet... I now give her a chicken wing in the morning and the primal nugget in the evening. She seems to really like the duck flavor over the beef. I like how these incorporate organs.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Allergies have improved
By Tracey the photogVerified Reviewer from South Beach,Florida on 6/7/2008
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Cons:
Messy
Best Uses:
Smaller Dogs, Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

Lola & Looie are King Charles Spaniels and love the Primal Raw food. Looie has major food allergies and the Duck flavor raw food works the best for his allergies. They can't gobble it up fast enough! Thier coats and waist lines have improved since the diet!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sold for a lifetime
By ElaineVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 1/8/2008
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Best Uses:
Dogs with Allergies, Smaller Dogs, Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

Easy to feed and my 2 small dogs love it, including the finicky one -- I couldn't get her to eat anything else. Their weight is perfect since switching from kibble. I like the idea of feeding them 'real food' in the proper ratios rather than processed. Great for dogs with food allergies!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Primal Raw Diet
By SurflocoVerified Reviewer from Carlsbad, CA on 1/6/2008
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Good Value, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty, Waste is less stinky
Best Uses:
Smaller Dogs
Describe Yourself:
New Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

I have a 4 lb. Chihuahua puppy and she loves her duck nuggets! She eats 2 nuggets twice a day and doesn't seem to be hungry in between meals. Her coat is soft and shiny and her teeth and super white and clean. Her droppings are very solid and have less smell compared to dry cibbles. Highly recommend!

 
Outstanding product
By JRVerified Reviewer from Texas on 10/30/2007
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Good Value, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Best Uses:
Puppies
Describe Yourself:
New Owner, Single Dog Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

Puppy licks the bowl clean

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy to measure out.
By Confettidogs4Verified Reviewer from Elizabeth city, NC on 7/31/2007
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Nutritional
Best Uses:
Active Dogs, Larger Dogs, Older Dogs, Puppies, Smaller Dogs, Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Multiple Dog Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

Since I tried this, then went back to their usual food, I have one dog who won't eat his food now.
He really prefers this food over his other raw food.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
They love the Pheasant!
By My Belle AmieVerified Reviewer from La Center, WA. on 7/6/2007
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Nutritional, Tasty
Best Uses:
My small dogs are picky., Smaller Dogs, Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Feeding a Bichon & Yorkie, Multiple Dog Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

It is so nice to not have to deal with the mess of measuring out their servings. Each dog gets one nugget twice a day. I also like that you can see the bits of fruit and veggies in the meat.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
anni likes it!
By anni's momVerified Reviewer from winchester, tn on 6/26/2007
Pros:
Dog Likes It
Cons:
no cons
Best Uses:
Special Needs
Describe Yourself:
Single Dog Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

this was my first shipment of this brand of raw food for my dog. she seems to like it. her stools continue to be well formed. i'm mixing it with her kibble presently. i've reordered the product. [...]

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Significant change in energy
By Theo's HumanVerified Reviewer from Bellingham, WA and Scottsdale, AZ on 4/21/2007
Pros:
Dog Likes It, Easy To Digest, Grain free, Improves Coat, Nutritional, Tasty
Cons:
Top quality so not cheap
Best Uses:
Active Dogs, Agility dogs, Smaller Dogs, Special Needs
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Primal Pet Foods Primal Pet Foods Raw Dog Food:

We have a 1.5 yr old mini Schnauzer that is in intermediate-level agility training. When we started agility training, we were feeding him dry Merrick food. With the addition of the treats for training, he put on 3 pounds despite all the exercise. He also lost energy and had alot of gas (!!!). We switched him to Evo no-grain which totally eliminated the gas, but the energy and weight did not change. Out trainer recommended raw- and after trying a few brands, settled on Primal. He has now been on it for a month. He has lost about 2 pounds, his energy could not be higher, and his coat is fabulous (he's a black & silver)- it has never been as soft and shiny. We still use Evo low fat when it isn't copnvenient to feed the raw.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 Only Natural Pet Store All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.