Buy the Spirit Essences Safe Space for Cats on http://www.onlynaturalpet.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Spirit Essences Safe Space for Cats image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Spirit Essences
Located in: Holistic Care, Cats
For the litterbox problems caused by territory conflicts with other animals in the home or because of a neighbor's cat outside.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
89% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(4), Effective(7), Gentle(7), No side effects(5)
Best Uses:
Daily care(7), Older pets(4)
Describe Yourself:
Long-time pet owner(9)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Didn't work for us...
By BeansVerified Reviewer from Macungie, PA on 7/26/2010
Cons:
Not Effective
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spirit Essences Spirit Essences Safe Space for Cats:

I'm happy this product worked for other people...

We have 4 cats - two of the males (2 yrs old and 10 yrs old) have recently begun a marking contest. Not a little spray but really peeing all over the house. We've taken them to the vet - no problem with the urinary tracts or anything else. I've used enzyme cleaner and phermone spray (twice a day) for a couple of months. The problems lessened but have not completely stopped.
I bought the Safe Space as a last resort. It was used as recommended and given for a couple of weeks. When I put it in the water bowls the cats got jumpy. The cats all seemed to go on high alert. I've since rubbed it on and given it on treats only to the two "urinators", they haven't shown any improvement at all in the last two weeks. I don't want to torture them so I'm not giving it to them anymore. For us, it was a waste of money for agitated cats who still keep marking, very disappointing.

Only Natural Pet Store Response: Consistent dosing is important & we have a great March 2007 article in our Library on tips for administering remedies you may want to check out.
 
Cat doesn't hide from German Shepherd
By Knittycat1Verified Reviewer from Ann Arbor, MI on 2/26/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Effective, Gentle
Best Uses:
Daily Care, Older Pets, Short-Term Care
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spirit Essences Spirit Essences Safe Space for Cats:

My cat is 15&1/2. 3 y ago we adopted a 1 y/o German Shepherd dog: WOW WAS SHE HYPER! and big (65# then now about 80#)! Although I restricted the dog to certain rooms and finally got her to calm down around my cat, my cat would have none of it! My cat did not like to hiss at the dog and sometimes would bat at the dog but never scratched the dog, my cat is just not aggressive and she would not change her nature to correct the dog in the way the dog could understand, she prefer to just avoid the conflict. I think the first encounter with the dog just blew her away and gave her PTSD.

After 2 years of only sitting on the highest level of the cat tower in the living room, I discovered this product and started giving it to my cat 1-2x/day (she was also on other flower essences for other conditions so I did not want to overload her). After a while, I think 2-4 wk, I noticed that my kitty did not seem to revile my dog quite so much. I would come home from work and she would be sitting on the cat tower, watching the dog. One night I was upstairs, and strangely, my kitty was downstairs with the dog. I heard a loud running sound that sounded like the dog downstairs. It sounded like dog play-running though. I snuck down the stairs to see if I could get an idea of what was going on before I reprimanded the dog. To my surprise and delight, my cat was sitting on her cardboard scratcher, playfully swatting at the dog whenever the dog came near, then my dog would make a big deal out of this and would romp away as if my cat were going to chase her. It was quite amusing. Shortly after that, my cat started drinking out of the dog's water dish. My dog has 2 beds, one in the crate and one in front of the kitchen window but they are right next to each other--don't ask--anyway, while my dog was on the bed in the crate, my kitty walked over to the bed by the window and sat down on it just to hang out and has done that a few times.

After using an entire small-size bottle, I ran out and did order some more but I have not had to give it that often, it seems to have some longer lasting effects. My cat doesn't hang out with the dog every day, but tolerates the dog much better, makes much better use of common areas and does not move out of the way when the dog comes near, but holds her own and the dog has to go around her. Pretty amazing stuff. Everyone says my cat is especially skittish and anxious. This stuff worked better than prescription medication for anxiety.

 
Great Product
By ShannonVerified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 1/12/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Effective, Gentle, Good Value
Best Uses:
Daily Care, Older Pets, Smaller Pets, Younger Pets
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spirit Essences Spirit Essences Safe Space for Cats:

I bought this to help ease the tension between an older cat and a new cat. The older cat was attacking the new cat and urinating on my throw rugs to show she was mad.

After giving all the cats this essence in their water twice a day, they all are clamer. The older cat was even sleeping close to the newer cat. AMAZING! She still attacks every now and then but the urinating has stopped and she seems more peaceful.

 
Seems to be working!
By busylizzyVerified Reviewer from Barrington, NH on 9/26/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Effective, Good Value
Best Uses:
Daily Care
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spirit Essences Spirit Essences Safe Space for Cats:

It's been 2 weeks since we started giving our 3 year old fixed female cat Safe Space for Cats. We have 3 indoor cats and a dog, 2 cats are sisters. About a month and a half ago one of the 3 year old sisters suddenly started to pee in various spots in the house... the bed, the window seat, towels on the washing machine and the futon. The vet checked her out and she had no medical issues so we tried adding another litter box to the 3 we already have. That didn't help. Found this essence here and have been giving it to her for 2 weeks now-- she hasn't peed outside the litterbox! She also seems more relaxed, is sleeping next to her sister and playing with her again! We also put the new fourth litterbox on another floor in the house-- filled with Dr Elsey's Precious Cat scoop-able litter with added Cat Attractant. Maybe it's the combination of the 2 but I really think the essences have brought Gretchen back to how she used to be and feel : )
The essences are very easy to administer-- put drops on treats, in food or even drops on fingertips that have touched treats-- she licked the drops right off!

 
Worth a Try
By Diver DawnVerified Purchaser from Seattle on 2/28/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Gentle, No Side Effects
Best Uses:
Daily Care
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spirit Essences Spirit Essences Safe Space for Cats:

The hope was that use of these drops with a pheromone diffuser would reduce Cat A's anxiety enough that he'd stop marking in the house and hissing at Cat B. After an extended trial it doesn't appear the combination worked for our situation, but I think it was worth giving it a go before reaching for the drugs.

Only Natural Pet Store Response: Another flower essence remedy may work better - it sounds like the aggressive cat sould use some flower essences, too. We encourage anyone having territory disputes with an aggressive and a scaredy cat consider getting the Ultimate Peacemaker set of essences.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Seems to be working....
By JaneVerified Purchaser from San Francisco on 10/22/2008
Pros:
Effective, Gentle, No Side Effects
Best Uses:
Daily Care, Need to follow directions, Use in consort
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spirit Essences Spirit Essences Safe Space for Cats:

Put it in the wet food at each meal, and even rub some on my cat's head behind the ears if he is agitated in the middle of the night. Seems to be working MOST OF THE TIME. Using with Feliway spray and diffuser. Also, the big problem with this kind of problem is the repetitiveness, so dealing with the actual area he frequents (I use Anti-icky poo) is vital.

 
It is worth the effort to try!
By ncdegirl84Verified Reviewer from Beautiful TWO Virginia Mountains on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Effective, Gentle, Long-Lasting, No Side Effects
Cons:
A little pricey
Best Uses:
Daily Care
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spirit Essences Spirit Essences Safe Space for Cats:

We are starting to notice a few spraying issues in the house with our 4 yr. old Ragdoll male cat. He is an only pet. This began after the next door neighbors female domestic short hair started hanging out on our patio out back. My husband gave HER a bowl of cat food one day not knowing any different! Now SHE is OURS or so "SHE" seems to think!!! Although my male Ragdoll was neutured it is purely an aggressive issue with him. He was spraying inside the house at the back door even though he can't see out back. He would also spray the walls surrounding the back door. -- Even if he just sensed she was out there! So,-- The first time I used this I rubbed it on his ears and misted the house (and back door area). What a RELIEF so far. I have noticed a change in him for the BETTER right away!!! This product is WORTH the investment so far. At least for pure breed Ragdolls that are bred to be very calm by nature.

 
My cats have found a Safe Space
By Donna, Owned by CATSVerified Reviewer from Northern CA on 3/28/2008
Pros:
Effective, Gentle, No Side Effects
Best Uses:
Daily Care, Older Pets, Short-Term Care, Younger Pets
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spirit Essences Spirit Essences Safe Space for Cats:

Lost mates, new cat additions, mixing young cats with older cats, PMS happens with cats...Well this has reduced the stress in our cat family, thank you. It is not perfect yet but I am certainly happier with 4 cats who can walk down the hallway and skip the boxing, screaming matches. What joy, I think I see a smile on their faces ever so quickly.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The spraying has stopped!!!
By PatriciaVerified Reviewer from Long Island, New York on 3/16/2008
Pros:
Effective, Gentle, No Side Effects
Best Uses:
Older Pets
Describe Yourself:
Long-time Pet Owner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Spirit Essences Spirit Essences Safe Space for Cats:

There are 3 cats and 3 dogs in my household, and my oldest cat started spraying in the house a few years ago I believe because of territory issues. We love him dearly, but nothing worked until I started using this product. I have been using it for about 2 months now, and my cat has completely stopped spraying and seems so much happier. I know the wonderful energy in it has helped him!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2010 Only Natural Pet Store All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.